Simon Klein's musical influences include Syd Barrett to Dark Side of the Moon era Pink Floyd, with a clear love for the Beatles, and a touch of Canterbury scene whimsy. His own voice is that of an Englishman with a taste for Gallic pop.

Jazz and 20th century classical records are piled high in his painting studio but he wouldn’t dare claim their influence on his ‘only Rock ‘n' Roll'.

These animated videos by Simon Klein accompany Don't Leave Me Alone, Get Out of Jail Free and Cat, three crowd pleasing slices of contemporary pop-tinged memorabilia released through Gare du Nord Records.

Don't Leave Me Alone

Music recorded and produced by Patrick Wood. Featuring Tim Whitehead on saxophone.

Get out of Jail Free

Get Out of Jail Free is the second single from Simon's album Will You Marry Me.


Cat was the first single from Will You Marry Me.

  • Simon Klein: Vocals, Rhythm guitar and Animation/Video
  • Ben Reed: Drums, Bass and Wurlitzer piano
  • Patrick Wood: Guitars and Music production
  • Jayne Severn: Backing vocals

Streaming, Download and Limited signed poster available on Bandcamp.

Sunny Misty Morning

Early mornings broached by love and the dust of rock ‘n roll

  • On a sunny misty morning,
  • Songbirds in the trees,
  • Singing sha la la la la la lee ...

Painting Puppet

Puppet, the title song from Simon's Monkclub Records album, features Ben Reed, Tom Mapes and Sarah Klein.

The album premiered on 30 March 2011 at the opening of Simon's exhibition 'Simon Klein: Music, Film and Art' at The Penny School Gallery, Kingston College, Kingston upon Thames.

The Painting Puppet video took 6 months to complete, editing 5 hrs of footage at 80 times original speed to fit Puppet's 3 minute 7 second running time.

  • Puppet produced and performed by Simon Klein, Tom Mapes and Ben Reed
  • Backing vocals Sarah Klein
  • Recorded by Tom Mapes at Stone Dog Studios
  • Mastered by Denis Blackham at Skye

Puppet is available on iTunes !


A holocaust remembrance mired by hate and redeemed by love

Film shot in 2010 on a journey to Terezín, the Czech Republic. Train was written by Simon Klein and recorded and produced with Ben Reed and Tom Mapes with Sarah Klein on backing vocals.

The verse to this song was written after translations of my grandmother Augusta's letters to my father, written prior to her internment in Terezin, were made by my late uncle, Hans Klein, who survived Terezin. The chorus "Was she there on the train?"" describes my father's possible thoughts, a refugee in England, as he waited to find that his mother, Augusta, had not survived.

Simon Klein 2012